top of page


With the publication of the first edition of Flying South in September, 2014, Winston-Salem Writers has transitioned from its earlier Anthology Contest to a nationally recognized online publication. 

The 2015 edition can be found at Flying South #2 2015.

The 2014 edition can be found at Flying South #1 2014.


The 2016 issue of Flying South can be purchased by clicking HERE.

2017 Flying South Results


The winners of this year's Writing Contest are:

  • Beth Copeland – Best in Category for Non-fiction and President's Favorite Award

  • Michael Gaspeny – Best in Category for Poetry

  • Vaughn M. Watson – Best in Category for Fiction

Flying South will also include work by the following authors:

Terry Barr, Judy Caldwell-Midero, Catherine Carter, JohnDavis Jr., Tige DeCoster, Grace Ellis, Saba Fiazuddin, Brandon Hartman, Mary Hennessy, Sarah Key, Ashley Kunsa, Sam Love, Caroline McGuinn, Marjorie Schratz McNamara, Amanda Noble, Lee Riley, Carol Roan, Edward Robson, Joyce Schmid, Heidi Seaborn, Patricia Slaga, Janet Smith, Robert Sypniewski, Pam Van Dyk, Peter C. Venable, Charles Wheeler, and Kay Windsor


Congratulations to all these talented writers. Special thanks to Barbara Rizza Mellin, member and artist, for providing the cover art.

You can see the 2017 rules and entrance guidelines by clicking HERE.

bottom of page